Become a Louisiana Insurance Adjuster
Licensing Rules and State Exam Study Guides for Louisiana Claims Adjusters
AdjusterPro's Bottom-line: Residents of Louisiana should use one of our Louisiana exam prep packages to study for the Louisiana exam administered by Prometric.
Adjuster License Requirements
To become a licensed Louisiana insurance adjuster,
- Be 18 years of age or more.
- Be a US citizen or have a current work authorization;
- Reside in or maintain a principal place of business in Louisiana;
- Pass an exam or qualify for an exemption;
- Be competent and trustworthy;
- Submit a complete application for licensure (including fingerprints) and the $55 fee;
- Maintain an office in your home state with public access;
- Be able to provide any and all documentation reasonably necessary to verify information in your application;
- Report any convictions of a felony, and, when applicable, acquire 18 USC 1033 written consent by the Commissioner of Insurance.
- EXEMPTIONS: Claims adjusters may be exempt from taking an exam if,
- They have already taken an adjuster examination in another state, and are currently licensed and in good standing with that state or if,
- They have 3 consecutive years of adjusting experience in Louisiana or,
- They have 5 total years of adjusting experience in another state.
- Be 18 years of age or more.
- Be currently licensed and in good standing in home state.
- Have taken an exam to qualify for their home state's license. If their home state does not require an examination, they must take the Louisiana exam.
- Apply online via NIPR.
- Pay fee of $55 per application.
NOTE: "In the event of a catastrophe or an emergency, no claims adjuster license shall be required for an individual who is employed or retained by an insurer and brought into this state for the purpose of investigating or making adjustment of losses resulting from the catastrophe or emergency." However, a catastrophe or emergency claims adjuster must be registered with the department prior to working in this capacity in Louisiana.
Adjuster Exam Preparation
AdjusterPro offers full-preparedness exam study packages specifically for Louisiana. Select from any of the packages (above-right) and take the Prometric exam with the confidence of knowing you've had the best possible preparation.
Adjuster Exam Registration
You may schedule your Louisiana exam through Prometric online or by calling 1.800.871.6457.
Refer to Louisiana Licensing Information Bulletin for detailed information on the examination.
Louisiana License Application
- Submit your application:
- Schedule and pass the Louisiana exam, when required: (Must be done by Prometric)
- Register online via Prometric. The phone number to schedule exams is 800-871-6457.
- Submit fingerprints (for resident applicants only):
- Schedule your exam and fingerprinting at the same time. You must pay the exam fee and fingerprinting fee before arriving at the test center.
- Fingerprints are scanned by Prometric immediately after completion of exam.
- Allow 10-14 days for fingerprinting results to be returned to Louisiana Department of Insurance.
- If you are exempt from the Louisiana exam requirement, you may schedule an appointment at a Prometric test center to have your fingerprints scanned.
- Pay $55 application fee.
- For more details about application submission, view the Application Information and Guidelines
Louisiana grants reciprocal licensing privileges to anyone holding a license from their home state. If your home state does not license adjusters, you must pass the Louisiana exam.
Maintaining Your License
The Lousiana Claims Adjuster license is a two-year license which expires on the last day of your birth-month, regardless of the date of issuance. To renew, you must:
- File a renewal application (available online at www.ldi.state.la.us or, for non-residents, at nipr.com).
- Complete 24 Hours of Continuing Education, with three of those hours being in Ethics (Continuing Education required for Louisiana resident adjusters — non-residents need only meet their home-state's CE requirements)
- Pay a renewal fee of $50
- Report changes of name and address via NIPR within 30 days to avoid a $50 fine.
- Application fee: $55
- Electronic Fingerprinting fee: $72.25
- Renewal fee: $50
Contact the Louisiana Department of Insurance
PO Box 94214, Baton Rouge, LA 70804-9214
Pass the Louisiana Exam the 1st Time!
AdjusterPro takes the anxiety out of your state exam by delivering a turn-key Louisiana-specific online study program for each of the following license types:
- Louisiana Personal Lines (Property) Adjuster Exam Prep
- Louisiana Commercial Lines (Property) Adjuster Exam Prep
- Louisiana Comprehensive Adjuster Exam Prep
- Louisiana Auto Adjuster Exam Prep
Adjuster Licensing Guide
Get started by selecting your state for State Licensing Requirements, Reciprocity, Exam Study Guides and Agency Contact Information.
This information was obtained via a 2010 state by state survey and was based upon the best information available. Please be sure to verify the accuracy individually per state statutes.