Become a Florida Insurance Adjuster
Licensing Rules and Certification Options for Florida Claims Adjusters
AdjusterPro's Bottom-line: Florida residents seeking their 6-20 license can gain exemption from the state exam by taking the Florida Certified Adjuster Designation course (online or live) through AdjusterPro. Non-residents of Florida residing in states that do not license adjusters can do the same. Non-residents of Florida residing in states that do license adjusters must pass the state exam (unless already licensed as a resident in a reciprocal state). Public adjusters are subject to separate licensing rules than those provided here.
Adjuster License Requirements
To become a licensed Florida insurance adjuster, individuals must:
- Be 18 years of age.
- Be a U.S. citizen or legal alien who possesses a work authorization from the U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Services.
- If you are unsure of the license type you need, click here to find out.
NOTE to Attorneys: "Attorneys at law duly licensed to practice law in the courts of this state, and in good standing with The Florida Bar are exempt from having to obtain a license."
NOTE to Applicants with prior criminal history: Click Here
The State of Florida defines an independent adjuster as "a person who is self-employed or is associated with or employed by an independent adjusting firm or other independent adjuster, and who undertakes on behalf of an insurer to ascertain and determine to the amount of the claim, loss, or damage payable under an insurance contract or undertakes to effect settlement of such claim, loss or damage."
Adjuster Exam Preparation
Resident applicants gain exemption from the Florida state exam by completing the Certified Adjuster Designation program — a 40 hour course available in both online and classroom environments.
Adjuster Exam Registration
If you opt to take the state exam rather than obtain the Florida Certified Adjuster Designation, you may schedule through Pearson-Vue online.
Florida License Application
- For a list of requirements and a step by step process on how to apply to the State of Florida as a Resident Independent/Company Adjuster (6-20 License) CLICK HERE>
- IMPORTANT: For individuals who took the Certified Adjuster Designation through AdjusterPro, you must submit your Completion Certificate and Designation Letter you received after completing our course to the mailing address listed in "Step 4 - Send Prerequisite to Department" in the above link.
- IMPORTANT: If you register for fingerprinting online through Pearson Vue, ("Step 5 - Fingerprints in the above link) the system is going to ask you for an agency name. You want to select the option "Insurance Agent".
- IMPORTANT: For individuals who took the Certified Adjuster Designation through AdjusterPro, disregard "Step 7 - Examination" in the link above.
- If licensed in another state within three years, provide a Letter of Clearance.
- If an individual holds a general agent license and wishes to add or convert to an adjuster, you must apply online and submit the fee of $55, (no examination is required).
- NOTE: “Attorneys at law duly licensed to practice law in the courts of this state, and in good standing with The Florida Bar are exempt from having to obtain a license”
- Check the status of your license and continuing education by logging into MyProfile.
- For a list of requirements and a step by step process on how to appy to the State of Florida as a Non-Resident Independent/Company Adjuster (7-20 License) CLICK HERE>
- IMPORTANT: The applicant's home state or other state must have a reciprocal agreement with Florida. ("Step 2 - License Required" in link above.)
- If the applicant does not meet the requirement listed above, he or she must take and pass the Florida Independent Adjuster Examination.
- Check the status of your license and continuing education by loggin into MyProfile.
Florida grants non-resident licensing privileges to anyone holding a license that has a reciprocal agreement with Florida. View Florida's reciprocal states to check your state's status.
Maintaining Your License
- There are 24 hours of continuing education required (2 ethics, 10 law, 12 optional) per two years.
- AdjusterPro offers CE Courses and Packages to fullfil your CE needs. Check out the Florida CE Catalog.
- Licenses will expire if more than 48 months elapse without an appointment. Failure to complete continuing education may result in cancellation of appointment(s).
- If you want to get your license back after it has expired, you must re-qualify as a first-time applicant.
- Initial Licensing and Application Fee: $50
- License ID Fee: $5
- Fingerprint Fee: $50.30
- State Exam (if required): $42
- For more information on pay method and fees click here.
Contact the Florida Department of Financial Services
200 East Gaines Street, Tallahassee, Florida 32399-0318
Phone: (850) 413-3137, Fax: (850)413-3291, Email available through FLDFS website here.
All 24 Credit Hours (incl. Ethics) for $99!
AdjusterPro offers an array of online Florida Continuing Education packages. Whether you need all 24 credits or just a few, we've got you covered:
- Florida Total Adjuster CE Package - 24 Hours Classroom-Equivalent (includes 3 Ethics, 10 Law)
- Ethics - Why Being Good PaysClassroom-Equivalent 3 Hours Ethics
- Statutes & Law - Legal Stuff in Plain English Classroom-Equivalent 10 Hours Law
Adjuster Licensing Guide
Get started by selecting your state for State Licensing Requirements, Reciprocity, Exam Study Guides and Agency Contact Information.
This information was obtained via a 2010 state by state survey and was based upon the best information available. Please be sure to verify the accuracy individually per state statutes.